Story #29: Erotic Fiction

Story #29: I wanted to write an Erotic Fiction novel.

In 2012, I was doing a lot of soul searching. Wait a minute… haha sorry, deja vu for a second there. In 2012 I was reading a ton of blogs, doing a lot of passion project exploration, and working on a blog that I maintained for one full year. I based the blog on an extensive list of goals, originally 26 goals by my 26th birthday, and then the 27×27. I am list and goal obsessed, so this structured worked really well for me.

One of my goals was to explore something sexy. I checked this goal off in at least 3 different ways. One of those ways was by reading erotic fiction and then attending a book release party by the author of the Boudoir Bible. Here’s a clip from my last blog:

My sharable “explore something sexy” goal is that I read an erotic novel and attended a book talk by the author of the Boudoir Bible. Lightning struck on this one. I had a conversation with a friend about the Claiming of Sleeping Beauty and was so intrigued by the premise of the book that I went out and bought it. Reading erotic fiction was exciting, as you can imagine, so I got through it in a reasonable time frame. However, there was no accountability here, only fodder for my own ideas. Reading the novel inspired me to look up erotic literature events in San Francisco, which lead me to Betony Vernon’s talk about the Boudoir Bible that was being hosted the day after I discovered it. I blindly jumped at the opportunity (having no idea who she was) and showed up. Lightning and the magical cosmos inspired action? I’m so glad I attended.

Even though I enjoyed the Claiming of Sleeping Beauty, I found that it left a lot to be desired. Since I was getting really into writing, I thought that perhaps I should try my hand at writing my own erotic novel. The ones that I found felt a bit hokey and I think there is still plenty of room to write good sexy books for men and women alike.

I haven’t written any erotic stories or even continued my search for satisfying erotic novels. If you know of any, I would love to hear about them! And though it isn’t in the cards for me at the moment, perhaps some day I will pursue this idea. This is one of the more entertaining ideas I’ve come up with in brainstorming sessions of creative projects. A real challenge on several levels!

Would you like to write a novel in your lifetime? What kind of book can you imagine writing? What books do you like to read? Favorite fiction novel?

XO ❤ LB

 

Leave a Reply

