Story #9: I applied to work for GreenPeace.

Story #9: I applied to work for Greenpeace.

That’s right, I’m that kind of person. I’m just kidding, I’m not sure I even know what that means. I understand that Greenpeace is quite controversial and that’s part of the reason I like them. They are much more controversial and have way more cohones than I do, but I like to think that I could bring that kind of Umpf if I needed to.

I believe that Greenpeeace does deeply important work. I feel very connected to their mission. And in case you’re not quite sure what that is, I’ll post it here:

Greenpeace is the leading independent campaigning organization that uses peaceful protest and creative communication to expose global environmental problems and promote solutions that are essential to a green and peaceful future.

This organization has been around for a very long time and I admire their continued dedication to peaceful protest. They have been incredibly innovative and creative in their tactics over the years, which I find inspiring. So back in 2008, I applied for an internship or training program they had running at the time to put my actions where my mouth was.

I can’t remember what the application process was like or what I wrote about in my essay. I do remember that I was accepted and had to make a decision. This was during the same time I was struggling in a relationship, thinking about planning a cross-country bike trip with my sister, and figuring out if I was attending school again in the fall. To make all those long stories very short, I didn’t go.

I have a ring that I acquired through trade for art. It’s a ring that symbolizes parallel universes. I love this ring and it’s symbol so much that I got a tattoo based on it. It is a constant reminder of the paths I did and did not take. It is a nod to “what might have been.” It gives me pause. I am able to meditate on the vision of ships passing in the night. I can peer into the darkness of space and see the parallel universe, just out reach, with my other life as a fierce environmental activist. What would have happened had I attended the training that summer? How would I live my life differently had I never biked across the country? How would it all have unfolded had I graduated from art school in NYC?

Who knows!? And in some ways, who cares? But I really get a kick out of thinking about these things.

Which brings me to the most important lesson that I try to embrace: we make decisions every day starting the minute we wake up. Own that. Be the maker and the shaker of your own life.

I love what I am doing with my life right now. I am excited to get up in the morning. I am surrounded by people I love and who make me laugh. I get to do amazing stuff every single day. And when it’s sunny outside – everything is perfect. I’m still working on taking complete ownership of my life. This is a reminder of that.

What is a path that you didn’t take? How do you feel about it now?

Tell me about it in a comment below! Or text me and we’ll get a coffee to discuss parallel universes. Science nerds unite! Tell me about quantum physics and space!!!!

XOXO ❤ LB

 

Leave a Reply

