Story #4: I had 3 ferrets growing up.

Story #4: I had 3 ferrets growing up!

You are thinking one of two things. 1) What the hell is a ferret? or 2) Wow! Bet your room smelled amazing. 😯

That’s right, not one, not two, but three ferrets! Maybe my mom should be writing this post. When I think back to it now, I am shocked at how loving, generous, and trusting my parents were with me at a young age. First of all, ferrets are still illegal in California. My parents literally smuggled me a pet over the Nevada-California border. Will we be deported for admitting this?

Sorry, bad joke. But they did. I had been BEGGING for a ferret at the time. I think I was 11 or 12. My grandfather came to visit and my dad took him to Tahoe to ski for a day or two. They drove the extra hour into Nevada, found a pet store and brought home a baby ferret!!!!! Oooooo, I still get giddy at the thought of those slippery little bastards.

She was a total dream. I named her Weetzie. After Weetzie Bat by Francesca Lia Block. I was super obsessed with those books. Anyway, Weetzie was what all ferrets are: a stinky, wily, mischievous little devil. Driven by mad curiosity, she would get into and chew on everything. Ferrets are hilarious because they have this boundless energy that is practically impossible to exhaust – which results in a dance.

Of course you just want to cuddle these fuzzy creatures, but you have to figure out how to tire them out first. Once they’re sleeping, they’re f-ing OUT.

How did I obtain 2 more ferrets? To be honest, I can’t remember. MOM, WHY did you let me get two more ferrets?! Must have been that we thought Weetzie was lonely and we were too compassionate to let our pets suffer loneliness. So Darwin and Argyle joined the family. It was cuteness-mayhem.

They do smell. It’s a very distinct scent. This is probably the biggest issue with owning ferrets. Not sure what else to say here. I lived in a stinky teenagers room because I wanted to live with weasel-like animals . Darwin and Argyle out-lived Weetzie by a long shot. My mom was primary care giver when I left for college. Dear Parents, thank you for the trust, the generosity, and all the love. We’ve had so many pets over the years. The cuddling and the laughter,  the grief of loss when they died, have all been worth it.

R.I.P. Weetzie, Darwin, & Argyle (and all other Buelow pets over the last 30 years). ❤

Did you have pets growing up? What’s one of your craziest pet stories? How has it influenced your view of having pets today?

Tell me about it. ❤ XOXO

P.S. I cut my own bangs with nail scissors in this photos. It was a good year for me.

