Writing Exercise: 12 Commandments

This is a re-post from my previous blog.

I’ve tried a lot of different things in my life. I mean, I’ve read more self help books than I can count and many of these include hours of writing exercises. A few years back I read Gretchen Rubin’s Happiness Project. I was working with a woman at the time, a friend of mine, who had also read the book and wrote her own 12 commandments – like Gretchen. I thought this was a brilliant idea and decided to do the same.

I had not reviewed these in a long long time until today. I am posting them here because this is one exercise that I have found interesting, telling, therapeutic, revealing, fun, challenging, and rewarding. I feel like I am coming back to myself when I read the list. I also like that it isn’t set in stone. This is simply another opportunity to reflect – is that still me? Or do I have an edit that feels more important?

Knowing yourself, knowing what you stand for is one of the most powerful things in the world. These things inform my experience everyday.

Whoa, could I get any woo-ier?!

OK, the 12 commandments already:

1) Be Authentic. Be yourself.
2) Forgive, you do not have to forget.
3) Face your fears.
4) Express gratitude.
5) Pursue life opportunities wholeheartedly.
6) Listen.
7) Practice makes better: Enjoy the process.
8) Act how you want to feel.
9) Be patient and compassionate.
10) Be here now.
11) If I can’t get out of it, I’ll get into it and learn something.
12) You are exactly where you need to be.

Love, Strength and Vigor!

